top of page

FAQ

Useful Information

We’ve compiled a list of frequently asked questions and answers for your convenience. If you can’t find what you’re looking for, please get in touch and we’ll respond to your inquiry as quickly as possible.

British Railways Related Links

UK Heritage Railways              http://www.heritage-railways.com/enthus.php 
Southern Email Group             http://www.semgonline.com
Railway Herald Magazine        http://www.railwayherald.co.uk/

Nicknames for British Diesel Engines

Class         24 - Rat, 25 - Rat, 26 - MacRat or Teacup, 31- Goyle, 33 - Crompton, 35 - Hymek, 37 - Growler,
                   40 - Whistler, 43 - Warship, 44 - Peak, 45 - Peak, 47- Duff, 50 - Hoover, 52 - Western,
                   55 - Deltic, 56 - Grid, 58 - Bone, 60 - Doughnut, 66 - Shed, 70 - Freightliner

A translation of American Railroad to British Railway terminology.

Car - Carriage or Coach    Consist - Rake        Engineer - Driver    Grade Crossing -  Level Crossing 
Locomotive - Engine          Switches - Points   Truck - Bogie 

The First Paying Passenger Railway

Swansea and Mumbles Railway, South Wales

 

The five mile long railway had been built in 1806 to ship coal, limestone, and iron ore from the Swansea Canal to the harbor at Oystermouth, which was located in the community of Mumbles.

The inauguration on 25 March 1807 of a four-wheeled horse-drawn passenger carriage running on the tracks of the Swansea and Mumbles Railway became the world's first passenger paying railway service in the world.

Useful Links

Other British Model Railroad related Clubs

British Railway Modelers of North America (BRMNA) www.brmna.org
The Platelayers Society: http://www.theplatelayers.org/
British Model Railway Club of Montreal: ​http://britishmodelrailwayclubofmontreal.blogspot.com/
Scale Four Society                   https://www.scalefour.org/
​The 2 mm Association              http://www.2mm.org.uk/ 
NMRA - DuPage Division         http://www.mwr-nmra.org/divisions/dupage/dupageindex.htm#marchxx 
 

Hobby Shops that carry British Model Railroading Supplies

Model Train Classics - 4284 London Road, Eau Claire, WI 54701 715.838.8858, www.modeltrainclassics.com

 

Online retailers

The following are some of the online retailers that we have found useful.

Rails of Sheffield - A UK based online retailer: https://railsofsheffield.com/

Model Electronics Railway Group (MERG) - for hobbyists interested in building components: https://www.merg.org.uk/

Other Model Railway related links


Model Railroad Hobbyist Magazine online portal: https://model-railroad-hobbyist.com/
​Railway Modelers online portal:   https://www.railwaymodellers.com/
Model Railroader Magazine website: https://www.trains.com/mrr/
Hornby Magazine Portal: ​https://www.keymodelworld.com/hornby-magazine  
Model Train and British Model Train related YouTube channels
Hornby Model Railways - www.youtube.com/channel/UCdaMWpHBpM42MU9qRgzlEpg
The DCC Guy  - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuj_3CIjTM2ZCfCkDuICRqA
Sams Trains - www.youtube.com/channel/UCS2N147AP5gPkFI3XNcYqig
DIY and Digital Railway - www.youtube.com/channel/UCzIUj-V9MDz1YmuRVTeyVWQ

bottom of page